Meet the first years!!!!!

Here is the SIUE Art Therapy class of 2017!
We are a small but mighty class of 8 lovely ladies from all over the country. Together we represent Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Ohio, Oklahoma, Washington DC,  and Wisconsin.

577154_10101012465872128_1914753033_n

Hi! I’m Sarah. I am from just outside of Washington, D.C., but spent a year living and teaching in the Marshall Islands. I love painting, good music, gentle yoga, vegetarian food, comedies, and learning about other people and cultures. I am really happy to be apart of the SIUE Art Therapy Counseling program this year!

IMG_2573

Hi my name is Kaitlyn and I am originally from Maumee, Ohio. I enjoy taking naps, watching movies, and the color pink. Some interesting things about myself are that I like to dance in clothes before I buy them, I would eat chocolate for every meal if I could, and I do not believe in guilty pleasures.

???????????????????????????????

I’m Emily! I am recently married. My favorite medium to work with is oil paint. I’m a redhead. I collect skeleton keys. And I have a love for 80’s rock.

10614398_2924492227698_6093584733143205967_n

I’m Veronica! I’m originally from Atlanta, GA. My life goals include building a skeleton out of popsicle sticks, not losing a debit card before it expires (I always have to replace them before they can expire :/), and eating Cuban food in Cuba. I enjoy radical feminist theory, the tv show Friends, writing, and really good books.  I’m the current SATA blog editor so leave me comments if there is anything you’d like to see discussed here!

In_dah_studio

My name is Rani  and I was born and raised in Norman, Oklahoma. I have a passion for painting and power tools. My favorite color is turquoise.

Damaris

My name is Damaris, I come from Little Rock, Arkansas where I grew up with my parents and four siblings on the city limits next to a state park with a mountain. I enjoy being outdoors more than being inside, I am growing to love Jesus more and more, people are beautiful and I treasure getting to know others and embarking into new relationships while growing and deepening in relationships with family and friends. I hope to help others flourish by way of the gifts of art and relationship, and whatever else I encounter that is helpful. Art has really helped me through my own life to understand and learn and I believe it is a way for many to also understand, learn, and grow. Also I really like beverages. I am excited to get to know you all better, thank you for welcoming us 1st years so warmly!

daphne

My name is Daphne,  born and raised in Ossian, Iowa. I am a first generation college student. I graduated from Upper Iowa University with a Bachelor’s of Arts in Psychology & Studio Arts. Friends & family are everything to me.  I see life through a new perspective through using ceramics,  photography,  & painting. I see life as a plan just waiting to unfold. ♡

ashpic

I’m Ashley! I grew up in northwestern Wisconsin and moved to Milwaukee upon a tuition scholarship to attend the Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. I earned her Bachelor of Fine Arts Degree with an emphasis in sculpture and installation art. I’m active in promoting the visual arts in my community; working in art education, exhibit design, and galleries. I have worked extensively teaching art with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee and Danceworks Inc. Last summer, I completed an artist residency at the Milwaukee Public Theatre designing children’s costumes for the 2014 Latino Carnival. In my free time I can be found exploring the outdoors and growing veggies in my garden.

For Halloween, we decided to dress up as the rainbow.

rainbow1

Upon hearing about our costume, one of the second years reminded us of this gem from Awkward Family Photos.

afp

So we decided to re-enact it!

rainbow2

We’re all very lucky and happy to be part of Art Therapy at SIUE! Many thanks to the second and third year students for making us feel welcome and supported!

One response to “Meet the first years!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Semester in Review! | Student Art Therapy Association

Leave a Reply

